GLBT Characters in Mainstream Fiction


Interesting, I’ve never actually read a mainstream novel with GLBT characteristics. I’m completly out of the loop.

Cameron D James

If I want to read a book with an accurate portrayal of GLBT characters, I’m best going with something that is specifically marketed as GLBT fiction.  But why should I have to do that?  We all know that GLBT persons are a component of society and are in every aspect of our lives, yet we for some reason largely exclude them from mainstream fiction.  (And I’m using “mainstream fiction” to mean anything other than that which is specifically labelled as GBLT fiction.)

GLBT characters have been very few and far-between in the mainstream fiction I’ve read in the past couple years.  Perhaps that’s why GLBT fiction thrives?  Because if someone wants to read about GLBT characters, they know they have to turn to GLBT fiction?

I sometimes wonder if part of the reason for the scarcity is because heterosexual writers are intimidated by the prospect of a GLBT character.  If…

View original post 691 more words

Share your thoughts!

